Moving from an old Google account to a new one

Sometimes there are times when you really need to switch to a new account. For example, you were an ardent admirer of Star Wars and your email address looked something like this – [email protected] And on this account you have all the important services, key information and much more. But now you have become an important businessman or public person, and just a little grown up, and it’s time to link your account and your name. That is, move from [email protected] to [email protected] (do not forget about Google Reader, Google Calendar and Google Docs). But at the same time save all data and passwords or at least reduce losses. How to do it? We read, “we collect suitcases” and move.

gmail, mail, save data, save password
© photo

Change your old Gmail account to a new one

Unfortunately, in Gmail there is no way to just take and move with all your luggage to a new one, with a more sonorous name. To do this, you will have to work with a mail client like Outlook to drag messages between accounts.

You must allow both accounts in Gmail to access the “desktop” mail client via IMAP. In Gmail Settings, there is a list of email clients that support IMAP. Also, for more productive work, you need to enter Advanced IMAP Features in Gmail Labs in both accounts (old and new) and specify that it shows you all your shortcuts (including Sent Mail and All Mail). You can do this by going to Settings – Labels.

Preparing Gmail Account for moving
First of all, you need to understand messages and shortcuts (remember that Sent Items, Inbox and Marked are also shortcuts). One of the ways to simplify work with them is to create a so-called multi-label. For example, if you have many messages marked as “1” and “2”, then you can create a multi-label “1 and 2” and combine all the messages that contain the labels “1” and “2”

Thus, in your desktop client all messages will be in one place and their moving to a new account will take much less time. When the messages are already transferred to your new account, you will be able to return everything back to their places, deleting the third, unifying label.

lifhacker, lifehacker.ru, mail, set up mail

mail, how to save data and passwords when switching to another account on gmail

gmail mail settings, account change, save password, lifehacker, lifehacker.ru

Moving from an old Gmail account to a new one from your desktop email client
After your old account is prepared for the move, you must prepare a new one – create the same folders and shortcuts that were present in the old one. After that, you will need to go to your desktop client and start dragging messages from old folders to new ones. Do this for all your folders / labels, including Inbox and Sent, but not touching All Mail yet. After that you will need to deal with messages without shortcuts that are in the All Mail folder.

how to change gmail account without losing data and passwords

Before grabbing messages without labels, make sure that you moved all marked emails from the old account to the new account, and then you need to remove them from the old one. This is necessary to ensure that then they are not duplicated in the “All Mail” folder. After that, all your folders, except All Mail, will be empty. Now you can easily select the remaining messages in the “All Mail” folder and drag them to the same folder, but in a new account.

Google Calendar

In order to transfer your main Google Calendar, you need to go to Settings and click on the Calendar tab. There there is a link Export calendars, by clicking on which you save all your calendars in iCalendar format in one file in the Zip archive.

Then go to your new account, go back to Settings – Calendar settings – Calendars and create a new one. You name it and click on the Import calendar link. Select the .ical file that will redirect to your main calendar and load it using the created new blank calendar.

If you have several calendars that you would like to transfer, you can go another way. Go back to Settings, click on the Calendar tab in the first account and select Share calendar. In the line enter the address of the second account and click on the Add button. The second address will be notified that you have been granted access to such a calendar, for confirmation you will need to go to the link specified in the letter. Later, the calendar in the second account will open automatically without a link. Then you can go to Settings in the second account and remove the address of the first account from the list of access to the calendar. Thus, the second new account remains the sole owner of the calendar. Similar actions you do with all your calendars.

Moving with Google Docs

Transfer your documents to a regular account is quite simple. You need to select the documents that you would like to transfer, select “Change owner” in the drop-down menu and enter a new mail address.

If you want to transfer documents to mail in another domain, you have to try a little. To do this, you need to select the necessary documents, all in the same menu “Additional Actions” choose “Export”. You will be asked to choose the format in which your documents will be stored – MS Office, Open Office or PDF. Choose and save in the Zip archive. Then download the necessary documents from your computer to your new account.

Google Reader

Transferring your rss subscription also does not take much time. But it works only if your new account is also on Gmail. All you need to do is go to your Google Reader – Settings and click on Import / Export. Below you will see the link “Export subscriptions as an OPML file”, which will download to your computer one file that will contain all of your subscriptions. Click on this link and then go to the same settings in the second account. Only in the second case, you click on the “Select file” button and select the file with your subscription. After the file is downloaded, all of your tape will be shown in Reader in the new account. Here only in the new Google Reader account will not show the marked posts, read or not read and you will have to revise all entries again, as well as deal with the list of friends.